18
May
10

One Guy Recommends: Silk Knit Tie


When it comes to dressing for business or for a formal occassion, I would say that my general philosphy is to dress conservatively, but with one small area where I express my personality.  There are many ways to do this, from wearing a cutaway collar (which is a bit unusual in North America, but probably more formal and completely acceptable), to wearing Scottish flag or bright red fabric knot cuff links, or  coloured socks, or having side tabs instead of a belt on one’s pants.  Adding personality to one’s clothing can be done through colour, texture, pattern or proportion (although I would caution against doing these all at the same time).   Which brings me to the silk knit tie, which plays with texture in an interesting, but very understated way.

Most of those reading this blog have seen the James Bond movie “Goldfinger” at some point in their lives and many of have seen it multiple times.  It’s without doubt my favourite Bond film, from the golf scene to the fantastic names (Pussy Galore, anyone?) to the three piece, glen-plaid suit (pictured above along with a mint julep, “sour mash but not too sweet”) that James sports throughout the flick.  Plus, it features Sean Connery in the title role, a must to be considered the top Bond film of all time.  One other thing you will notice about Connery’s suit if you go back and watch the movie again is his tie.  It’s a dark  silk knit tie that I doubt most people even spotted the first time around.  The silk knit tie was more popular in the 1960’s, but there has recently been a recent renaissance of sorts.

I purchased a silk knit tie about a year ago (and then another a few weeks ago) and, while I don’t wear them very often, I always receive compliments when I do.   You wouldn’t think that a solid navy and a solid black tie would draw much attention and, for the most part, they don’t.  But when you’re talking to someone face to face, particularly an observant member of the opposite sex, inevitably their eyes will dip to your tie and the feedback has always been positive.

Most silk knit ties have a flat bottom, unlike the pointed  bottom on your average tie; while I don’t mind this detail, I managed to find one from Battistoni that has the traditional pointed bottom.  The flat bottom gives the silk knit tie a more casual air and so I would caution against wearing it to the office.  That said, I often wear mine on fridays, which are considered to be more casual at my office.

My tip for pulling off the knit tie is to make it a simple, solid navy.  Once you’ve decided how you feel about it, then you can begin to explore striped and more colourful silks.   Again, even though it is likely perfectly acceptable, I also might not wear a silk knit tie to the office, outside of a casual friday, but rather save it for events in the evening or in the summer, especially a more casual outdoor wedding or other party.

Another great reason to buy a silk knit tie, other than to infuse a bit of personality into your dress, is that they’re all of a sudden widely available and generally inexpensive.  You can track them down at Lands End, J. Crew, Ralph Lauren, Thomas Pink or, my personal favourite (although definitely the bank-breaker of the bunch), Battistoni.  The prices are generally around $50, which is more than reasonable for a stylish tie.  So, for those out there who are understandably a bit concerned about showing personality through their clothes because they are unsure of how to do so, or are concerned about dressing conservatively, here’s the perfect antidote.  Enjoy fellows.

7 Responses to “One Guy Recommends: Silk Knit Tie”


  1. 1 Luke Honey
    December 27, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Would love to know where the brownish-green knitted silk tie- as worn by the chap in the large photo at the bottom of the page- comes from? I want one!

    Thanks

    Luke

  2. December 22, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Regards!

  3. May 11, 2013 at 12:56 am

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was great. I do not know who you
    are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;
    ) Cheers!

  4. May 15, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  5. May 20, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    When someone writes an article he/she retains the plan of a user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.
    Thus that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 111 other followers

One Guy Blog Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

One Guy’s Style Official Twitter Feed

  • @AirCanada witnessing some very subpar customer service here at PHX. Literally people crying in front of me.---------------- 2 weeks ago
  • @austinhorton U are shockingly insufferable. From the John Mayer comment to you clearly watching a fight only to make it oddly political...---------------- 1 month ago
  • @adamcarolla higher % of Canadian population died as soldiers in WW2 than the US, so F off re Canada. But fair enough on Mexico...---------------- 10 months ago
  • @AdamCarollaShow higher % of Canadian population died as soldiers in WW2 than the US, so F off re Canada. But fair enough on Mexico...---------------- 10 months ago
  • @88EricLindros I bet you wish you could've chosen your own Wikipedia photo.... https://t.co/2J87f4NVGU---------------- 1 year ago

